I LOVED this book (and movie) growing up…a classic.

booksandbuttons

I first read this book in 1982. It was published in the 70’s. I loved it.

It was our book club selection for February this year. To make the reading more fun,  I ordered the new edition illustrated by Aldo Galli and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers.
There was an edition published in 1976 illustrated by John Lawrence and I suspect that’s the one I read in 1982. Alas! It’s not on my bookshelf . . .I’d like to compare illustrations.

In the introduction, the author proclaims that the book is not meant to be read as allegorical, that it was a tale made up as it went along to amuse his two little girls
at bed times and on long car trips.

The author says that the rabbits are not meant to be cute, and they never do anything rabbits would not be able to do.  Well, they do…

View original post 359 more words

Leave a Reply

